Jerseygator's Blog


Spaghetti Squash

Posted in Cooking,Garden by jerseygator on September 17, 2009
Tags: ,

We harvest a lot from our garden, but this year we did not plant spaghetti squash.  There’s a reason for this.  You know how you’re supposed to like something?  Everyone tells me that spaghetti squash “tastes like spaghetti” and “you just have to shred it” blah, blah, blah.  Well, I don’t like it.  It doesn’t taste like spaghetti and I don’t like squash.  Period.

Spaghetti Squash "pasta"

Spaghetti Squash "pasta"

Except…

I love zuchinni bread.  Why not spaghetti squash bread?  And I like fritters.  Hmmm…

Tonight the spaghetti squash that a coworker gave me from her garden became bread and fritters.  And, they were awesome.  More than awesome.  As Zaphod Beeblebrox would say they were “amazingly amazing.”  We cut the squash in half, scooped out the innards and roasted it in a 350F oven for about 30 minutes or so, until it was soft.  Darrol then scooped the “spaghetti” out and we divided into the two recipes below.  He made fritters, I made bread.  Both recipes were from eHow.com.

Squash Fritters:

Spaghetti Squash Fritters

Spaghetti Squash Fritters

http://www.ehow.com/how_4542861_make-squash-fritters.html

Squash Bread:

Spaghetti Squash Bread

Spaghetti Squash Bread

http://www.ehow.com/how_4553181_spaghetti-squash-carrot-bread.html

2 Responses to 'Spaghetti Squash'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Spaghetti Squash'.

  1. Kelley said,

    I feel the same way about spaghetti squash. I even keep trying it thinking that “maybe this time I’ll like.” In fritters with zucchini and ricotta sounds, I may enjoy it.
    Also I read back a few posts. Good stuff!


  2. hello,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.


Leave a Reply

