Jerseygator's Blog


Hello world!

Posted in Cooking,Garden,Music by jerseygator on September 1, 2009
Tags: , , ,
Mr. Cow short ribs

Mr. Cow short ribs

Well, I’ve joined the 21st century and have decided to start a blog.  However, what can I write about that hasn’t been covered by smarter, more connected writers?

I’m just going to journal what’s going on in my life.  Totally self-centered, just for me, read at your own peril stuff.  It might be gardening, or MMB (Movies, Music and Books), or work, or kids, or cooking, or whatever.  Maybe I’ll be brilliant, perhaps I’ll drone on, who knows?  It’s always good just to start though, isn’t it?

So today I’m cooking our first beef from Mr. Cow, the grass fed steer we bought 1/4 of and shared with some other families.  The grass-fed part was important to us for health and environmental reasons.  Supposedly, grass-fed beef has more Omega 3’s, less saturated fat, and is leaner.  The main reason we went with it was, after watching Food, Inc. and talking about how evil CAFO’s were, we just felt we couldn’t support those practices any more.

(BTW, I’m listening to She & He “Volume One” right now…I really want to like it, but it’s kinda boring.  I’m glad I got it from the library to listen to before purchasing.  Zooey’s voice sounds amateurish, and the album comes across as a fun experiment, but not all that interesting to the rest of the world.  While writing this the album ended and Sheryl Crow’s “Detours” came on.  Now there’s a voice to get lost in, especially in this album.)

Anyway, so we purchased this cow and had Steve and Jill over for the first bites of Mr. Cow.  We toasted his sacrifice and then dug in to some really delicious Porterhouse steaks.  Tender and flavorful, plus they cooked in about 3 minutes per side.  A good wine on the side, plus stuff from our garden.  The garden is a whole ‘nother blog post!

Today I’m cooking short ribs.  I didn’t even know what short ribs were, so had to do some searching on the internet.  Seems they can be cooked a variety of ways but “low and slow” is the consensus for the best flavor.  Took them out and seared them on all sides in a huge cast iron skillet (inherited from my husband’s grandma…I mean this is a huge pan!  I can hardly lift it.)  They rendered a pretty amazing amount of fat, so after searing I spooned about 2 Tbsp off.  Then I added a cup of boiling water, 2 cloves of minced garlic and a cup of crushed tomatoes (canned from our garden a couple of weeks ago).  They’re in the pan now, covered and simmering.  I added some salt/pepper after about 1/2 hour, as I realized they might be a bit bland.  I’m going to simmer for 90 minutes, or until the meat seems to be tender.   They certainly smell good…I’m thinking I’ll add some red potatoes that I have on the counter here, and I’ll pull some carrots out of the garden…they’ll be small but will cook quickly.  Plus we’ve already harvested the onions so I’ll add some of those, too.  Hmmm…it’s sounding pretty good, but we’ll see.  You know, I have some salsa Darrol made in the fridge…that might be a good addition!

So, right now you might be thinking, “wow, she knows how to cook!”  Hah!  At almost 50 years old, I am learning to cook.  My husband has shouldered the majority of the cooking duties for the last 30 years, but now that we garden I started to experiment.  Right now Darrol still gently mocks me about my cooking skills, but even he has to admit I’m getting better.  I’ve really gotten into canning fruits and am learning about vegies (hence our garden tomatoes in the dinner tonight!).  A lot of this blog may be about cooking.

For anyone out there reading this, enjoy….I’ll keep posting about our rather ordinary lives.  Although, come to think of it, most folks when they meet us say we’re “different.”  I think they mean that in a good way.

Leave a Reply

